What Happens When You Unblock Someone on iMessage? Answered
This article was co-authored by wikiHow staff writer, Rain Kengly. Rain Kengly is a wikiHow Technology Writer. As a storytelling enthusiast with a penchant for technology, they hope to create long-lasting connections with readers from all around the globe. Rain graduated from San Francisco State University with a BA in Cinema.
This article has been viewed 18,718 times.
When you block someone on your iPhone, you’re blocking someone from messaging you on Messages and calling your phone number. While you can’t retrieve any messages sent while a user is blocked, you can find blocked voicemails if the blocked user leaves any. If you choose to unblock someone, you’ll see their notifications again. This wikiHow will answer all your questions about blocking and unblocking someone on iMessage on your iPhone.
Things You Should Know
- Blocked users won’t be notified that they are unblocked.
- Unblocked users may see "Delivered" on sent messages, and calls can ring without going straight to voicemail.
- You won’t be able to retrieve blocked messages, but you can find blocked voicemails.
Section 1 of 3:
If I unblock someone on Messages, what happens?
The user will be able to message and call you again. Blocking a user prevents them from contacting you via Messages or Phone. When you unblock a number, these features will be accessible again. You can still ignore any received messages or calls, but you’ll see every notification.  X Research source
Section 2 of 3:
Will I receive old texts sent while they were blocked?
- However, if the blocked person calls and leaves you a voicemail, you can check it. It can be found in the Blocked Messages section of the Phone app.
- To find it: open the Phone app. Tap Voicemail → scroll down to the bottom → Blocked Messages.
Section 3 of 3:
Will someone know if I unblock them?
- If you want to unblock someone but want to avoid seeing their notifications, consider using Do Not Disturb.
Ask a Question
200 characters left
Include your email address to get a message when this question is answered.
Submit a Tip
All tip submissions are carefully reviewed before being published
Thanks for submitting a tip for review!
You Might Also Like
Hard Reset an iPhone
How to Fix "Notifications Silenced" on iPhone Messages
Turn Off Location Sharing on an iPhone Without Anyone Knowing
3 Easy Ways to Check Your WiFi GHz on an iPhone
6 Easy Steps to Reload Your Cash App Card at the Store
2 Ways to Get a Still Image from Video on iPhone or iPad
2 Easy Ways to Add Membership Cards to Apple Wallet
How to Unforget a Forgotten Bluetooth Device to an iPhone
Take a Screenshot With an iPhone
13 Easy Ways to Speed Up Your iPhone Personal Hotspot
Your iPhone Ghost Touch Problems Solved: 11 Easy Fixes
Import Contacts from Gmail to Your iPhone
Jailbreak an iPhone
How to Use the iPhone Hidden Album to Hide Private Photos